Sing, Beloved

I found this bit of writing from several years ago in my files and it wrecked me, but in the best way, reminding me about the love God has for His children. If you’re having a tough time lately (and who isn’t?) I hope these words encourage you.

Listen to a reading of the blog post. Scroll all the way to the bottom of the post for the rest of the song lyrics.

Close to bedtime, I prayed with my teen daughter. I asked God to bless her and thanked Him for her. Then I stopped talking and gave room for the presence of the Holy Spirit.

When the word came, it was fresh, though the phrases falling from my lips were as constant and familiar to her as breath.

With both hands I cupped her face and looked deep into her eyes. I held her there for a heartbeat.

I spoke.

You are His Beloved.

There are things we know to be true with our whole being, but over time clarity fades and becomes dim. Then, like the view through a recently cleaned pane of glass on a sunny, blue-sky day, all of a sudden we become more deeply aware of what we knew all along.

There are words, and then there are Words.

Truth rushes in and we are newly amazed.

You are His Beloved.

All day, every day, feedback and half-truths poke and prod, insidious whispers, or shouts, about how we fall short. It’s a constant assault.

It’s not a thing only the young struggle against.

Understanding we are less-than, we recognize our lack. Faced with this reality, we strive to escape our faulty standing, forgetting the larger truth of who we are. Who He says we are.

You are worth everything He paid for you.

The messed up, less than, never-to-be-perfect mess you are. Even now, when you have failed, failed, failed. And even then, before you knew Him, you were worth everything He paid.

You still are.

Now and then, forever.

You are His Beloved.

My arm around her, I began to sing.

I am His and He is mine,
A forever love, outlasting time.
Jesus loves me, He’s my destiny,
Jesus loves me, He is my destiny.

I stopped and asked her, “Do you remember this song?”

It’s her baptism song. The song I wrote after she made her public profession of faith as a tiny little thing in white Battenberg lace, barefoot, running down the aisle.

She said, “Yes, I remember.” She leaned against me, still my baby girl, but full of grown-up hurts, full of a grown-up need to come back to the security of who she is and who she belongs to.

We sang the song together, she and I, because it is my song, too.

You are His Beloved.

It is the song of all who choose to sing.

(c) Donna Jo Stone

When sharing, please share with attribution and in entirety.

I Am His (She Believes)

Little girl singin’ songs about Jesus’ love,
how He came down to earth from heaven above
and she believes,
she believes.
‘Cause she knows that He died to take away her sin
she trusts in His love and she gives,
she gives her heart to Him.
She sings
I am His and He is mine,
a forever love outlasting time,
Jesus loves me,
He’s my destiny,
Jesus loves me,
He is my destiny.


Young woman confused can’t seem to find her way,
doesn’t know what to do, doesn’t know what to say,
and so she prays,
Lord help me.
I know whatever life brings I’m still in Your hands,
she trusts in his love and she yields,
to the Father’s plan.
She sings
I am His and He is mine,
a forever love out lasting time,
now I see,
this was meant to be,
Jesus loves me,
He knows my destiny.


Time goes by but one thing always stays the same,
through every trial every joy Jesus remains,
a faithful Friend,
eternally.
Someday soon she’ll see Him face to face.
‘Cause she trusts in His love, she’s received
by His grace.
She sings
I am His and He is mine,
a forever love out lasting time.
Because I’m redeemed,
this is my destiny.

I am His and He is mine,
a forever love out lasting time.
Jesus loves me,
He is my destiny.

Little girl singin’ songs about Jesus’ love,
and she believes.
She believes.

Music and Lyrics copyright 2006 Donna Stone

Donna Jo Stone

2 thoughts on “Sing, Beloved

Leave a comment